This post was originally published on this site

Terry Francona, who guided the Cleveland Indians to their first American League pennant since 1997, was named American League Manager of the year on Tuesday.

Francona wins the award, given by the Baseball Writers Association of America, after guiding the Indians to a 94-67 record and their first playoff appearance since 2013 and first division title since 2007.

In his fourth year managing the club, Cleveland overcame significant injuries to star outfielder Michael Brantley, catcher Yan Gomes and starting pitchers Carlos Carrasco and Danny Salazar to win the AL Central title by eight games and improve their win total by 13 games from a season ago.

This is the second time Francona has been named Manager of the Year, having won the honor in 2013 after his first season with the Indians, and is the only two-time winner in franchise history. He is now the sixth active manager to win the award multiple times joining Dusty Baker, Joe Maddon, Bob Melvin, Mike Scioscia and Buck Showalter.