This post was originally published on this site

Baltimore’s Zach Britton earned MLB’s Mariano Rivera AL Reliever of the Year Award, and the Los Angeles DodgersKenley Jansen was given the Trevor Hoffman NL reliever honor.

The two were presented with the awards before Game 4 of the World Series on Saturday at Wrigley Field.

Britton converted all 47 save chances and had a 0.54 ERA, and Jansen also had 47 saves.

Winners are selected by eight former relievers: Rivera, Hoffman, Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Bruce Sutter, Lee Smith, John Franco and Billy Wagner.